LibGuides: Literature and Crime (LITR 315): Databases and Journals

MILO

MILO is like the "Google" of Resnick Library. Searching in MILO will bring you articles, books, e-books, videos, and more. It can be overwhelming to have that many results in one place, so make sure you use the check boxes on the left side of the search results page to limit the results you're getting!

Searching Databases Alone

If you want to search for just journal articles, you can use one of our subject-specific or multidisciplinary databases. These will not bring you as many results as searching with MILO, but the results will be much more focused. Try one of the databases below to get started!

Google Scholar
Search engine for finding scholarly content on the web. Includes some journal content. If full text is not freely available, look for the 'Find Full Text at SUNY Delhi' link. This will direct you to full text options from the library, if any are available.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary full text database of scholarly journal articles, from EBSCOhost. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Humanities Source
A collection including full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverageincludes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Criminal Justice Collection (Gale)

Database of 150 journals for research in law and law enforcement, also featuring materials for those with a future as a paralegal or a career in Homeland Security.
Literature Resource Center
Database of literary criticism and author biographies, from Gale. Searches traditional literary reference books like Contemporary Literature Criticism and Contemporary Authors, as well as reviews from current journal articles. Provided by SUNYConnect.

Chat with a Librarian

Hint!

Having trouble with your search? Check out Northeastern University's list of Top Ten Search Tips!