I. Getting Started with Reference Books: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Whenever beginning a research paper assignment, it is a good idea to read some background information on the topic you are interested in. This will help you better understand the topic, and will help you in deciding specifically what you want to research. A good place to start is with Reference Books. Reference Books are dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, or any other source that will give you short, concise bits of information. These books are interfiled in the main collection of Veterinary Science books in the Merrill Room (upstairs in the library), and will be labelled as "REF" at the beginning of the call number. Veterinary or general medical dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks (in the R and SF sections) are great sources for introductory information on diseases, procedures and treatments. Here are some examples of Reference Books:
Black’s Student Veterinary Dictionary Ref SF 609 .B53 2007
A comprehensive guide to terms and names used in Veterinary Medicine. “Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common, and less common, diseases, their diagnosis and treatment.”
Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians Ref SF 745 C625 2014
An authoritative, up-to-date textbook for veterinary technicians, with an emphasis upon the clinical needs of students and technicians.
Dictionary of Veterinary Nursing Ref SF 774.5 L25 2008
A short, concise, alphabetically-arranged list of terms related specifically to the nursing aspects of veterinary medicine.
An Illustrated Guide to Veterinary Medical Terminology Ref SF 610 .R66 2007
An illustrated guide to learning the pronunciation and definition of medical terminology used in veterinary practice.
Merck Veterinary Manual Ref SF 745 .M47 2005
Organized by organ system, Merck gives detailed disease, diagnosis, and treatment information for many conditions. It also gives information on animal behavior, clinical procedures, fur, laboratory and zoo animals, management, husbandry, and nutrition, toxicology, pharmacology, and zoonoses (diseases likely to affect people who work with animals).
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary Ref SF 609 .B566 2021
A reliable and authoritative source of information for students and practicing veterinarians and biologists. Key features include: over 65,000 entries, 90 pages of anatomical information, and a thorough coverage of drugs and poisonous substances.
Veterinary Drug Handbook Ref SF 917 .P58 2015
A single-volume reference guide to drugs approved for veterinary practice, as well as non-approved “human” drugs that are in use in many veterinary practices. Each entry includes a “Prescriber Highlights” section, listing manufacturer phone numbers and web sites.