While the heading says "strengths" it is always important to remember that generative text is a tool like any other - it is always of paramount importance to use the correct tool for the correct project. Below are a few possible examples of areas where AI chat generation may be a good tool.
Helping students better define their research topics by generating concepts, terms or search words, related to their specific topic.
Ex. "What are some keywords for the topic of AI in education?"
ChatGPT replied with:
Suggesting specific names of databases where one can find scholarly research on a specific topic.
Ex. "What are some databases or journals where I can find scholarly articles about AI and education?"
ChatGPT replied with:
Databases:
IEEE Xplore: This database includes a wealth of articles related to artificial intelligence and its applications in education.
ACM Digital Library: ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) publishes articles and research papers related to AI in education.
Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a comprehensive search engine for academic articles. You can use specific keywords to find articles on AI in education.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): ERIC is a well-known resource for education-related research, and it contains articles on the integration of AI in education.
ScienceDirect: This database includes a variety of AI-related articles, and you can filter your search to focus on education topics.
JSTOR: JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals, including those that discuss AI's role in education.
Journals:
Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education (JAIED): This journal specifically focuses on AI applications in the field of education.
Computers in Human Behavior: This journal often publishes articles related to the use of technology, including AI, in education.
Educational Technology Research and Development: This journal covers a broad spectrum of topics, including the integration of AI in educational technology.
International Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education (IJAIED): Another specialized journal in the area of AI in education.
British Journal of Educational Technology: This journal explores the use of technology in education, including AI.
Journal of Educational Data Mining (JEDM): JEDM focuses on data mining and analytics in education, which often intersects with AI.
International Journal of Information and Education Technology (IJIET): This journal includes articles on AI's impact on educational technology.
Suggesting ways for students to improve their academic writing.
A student who enters their already written work into ChatGPT might be able to receive decent feedback on things like punctuation, grammar, and word choice.
The following are things students should not be encouraged to use ChatGPT or any other generative text tool.
DO NOT have students ask ChatGPT for a list of sources on a particular topic. For more information on this see the "Citations and Limitations of AI" section. ChatGPT overwhelmingly will fabricate sources that do not exist and format them in a way that makes them appear legitimate to students.
DO NOT have students ask ChatGPT to summarize a particular source, if the source is academic in nature it is highly likely that the bot does not have access to that source in order to provide an accurate summary.
DO NOT have ask ChatGPT to write an annotated bibliography or literature review. Just like with researching sources it will not provide real sources and its summaries will be made up of information from many different non academic resources from places like Wikipedia, forums, random websites etc.
DO NOT have the expectation that ChatGPT will have knowledge about current events. ChatGPT has also shown significant bias when it comes to topics like gender, race, socioeconomics, and other "hot" issues. Think of it as having 4chan or Reddit as all of your research sources.
