LibGuides: Public History in American Culture and Memory (Hamblin, HONR 230): Web Resources

Using Web Resources

You may use web resources for your research paper, but be sure to make sure that they come from legitimate websites! Always check to see who runs the website, where they get their information, and when it was published. Check out the sites below, and try using the tips for searching by domain in Google. Can't find what you're looking for? Contact the library and we'll see how we can help!

Parks, Battlefields, and Memorials

National Park Service
The National Park Service is an agency of the federal government of the United States that manages all national parks, many national monuments, and other conservation and historical properties with various title designations.
American Battlefield Trust
The American Battlefield Trust preserves America’s hallowed battlegrounds and educates the public about what happened there and why it matters.
American Battle Monuments Commission
The American Battle Monuments Commission, established by Congress in 1923, is an agency of the executive branch of the federal government. ABMC — guardian of America’s overseas commemorative cemeteries and memorials — honors the service, achievements and sacrifice of U.S. Armed Forces.
Arlington National Cemetery
The Official Website of Arlington National Cemetery.
Washington D.C. Monuments and Memorials
Click on "view details" under each memorial, and the following page will provide information and a link to that specific memorial's website.
Gettysburg Reenactment
Official site for reenactments of the Battle of Gettysburg.

News and Archives

InfoTrac Newsstand
News articles from thousands of national and international newspapers, from Gale. Full text. Provided by NOVEL.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Provided by SUNYConnect.

American Presidency Project
Free, online, searchable database of Presidential documents.
United States National Archives
The National Archives is an independent agency of the United States government charged with the preservation and documentation of government and historical records.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.

Searching by Domain

Did you know that Google will let you search for results within a specific domain? This means you can limit your results to sites that end in .edu, .org, or .gov! Follow the instructions below.

Click in the Google search box.
Type site: (with no space after the colon).
Type the domain name you want (.edu, .gov, .org, etc.)
Press the space bar, and then type your search term. It should look something like the search below.

Museums

American History Museum
The National Museum of American History collects, preserves, and displays the heritage of the United States in the areas of social, political, cultural, scientific, and military history.
Smithsonian Institution Museums
Provides links to the Smithsonian's museums and galleries.
Colonial Williamsburg
Website of the living-history museum and private foundation presenting a part of the historic district in the city of Williamsburg, Virginia.
Cooperstown Farmers Museum
Living museum recreating rural life from the 19th century through exhibits and interactive workshops.
Mystic Seaport
Maritime museum notable for its collection of sailing ships and boats and for the re-creation of the crafts and fabric of an entire 19th-century seafaring village.
Old Sturbridge Village
Old Sturbridge Village, the largest outdoor history museum in the Northeast, depicts a rural New England town of the 1830s
New York State Museum
The New York State Museum is a center of art, science, and history dedicated to exploring the human and natural history of the state.